Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:22 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:42 pm 
Kuro Owner wrote:
The Kuro runs about 4-5 MBytes per second writes. That's not the maximum network. The Kuro runs about 7Mbytes per second on reads. That's not the network either. :lol:
OK Facts are done...


I get sustained sustained FTP transfers just under 13MB/sec when reading multi-gigabyte video files from my Kuro Box HG. Just slightly above the maximum throughput of 100MBit Ethernet. My PC has a $7 gigabit network adapter and everything is plugged into a $24 5-port gigabit hub (i.e. the cheapest crap I could find at Fry's).


Top
   
 Post subject: more facts ...
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 4:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 2:50 pm
Posts: 44
Location: seattle
Anonymous wrote:
I get sustained sustained FTP transfers just under 13MB/sec when reading multi-gigabyte video files from my Kuro Box HG. Just slightly above the maximum throughput of 100MBit Ethernet. My PC has a $7 gigabit network adapter and everything is plugged into a $24 5-port gigabit hub (i.e. the cheapest crap I could find at Fry's).


well considering the HG has a maximum thoroughput of 1000mb, not 100 as you just stated ... your figures make it very clear that the network is not even remotely the bottleneck. If you're trying to impress with your math skills/engineering prowess, it's not working.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 11:13 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Irvine, CA
Anonymous wrote:
Kuro Owner wrote:
The Kuro runs about 4-5 MBytes per second writes. That's not the maximum network. The Kuro runs about 7Mbytes per second on reads. That's not the network either. :lol:
OK Facts are done...


I get sustained sustained FTP transfers just under 13MB/sec when reading multi-gigabyte video files from my Kuro Box HG. Just slightly above the maximum throughput of 100MBit Ethernet. My PC has a $7 gigabit network adapter and everything is plugged into a $24 5-port gigabit hub (i.e. the cheapest crap I could find at Fry's).


I didn't understand why you were quoting Kuro Owner.
Agreed your rate will be faster on a KuroHG. I thought that was well known. Were you trying to compare Kuro to the KuroHG?

It does seem a little high even for a HG.
Does FTP use the built in samba driver? (Don't remember :( )
Is that writes or reads?
Do you have both? Would be good comparison. I never got my HG to run that fast. I better buy a crap hub instead of my Linksys Router :wink:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 3:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 9:01 am
Posts: 279
Location: France, St Cyr-L'Ecole (78)
So the sucessor of the Kurobox HG is there : The kurobox Pro !
Does it fit your expectations ?
It now have :
- A faster CPU (ARM9 @ 400MHz)
- More Flash
- An internal S-ATA controler with an additional SATA connector to plug another Disk.
- A PCI-Express 1x slot (to plug an additional Ethernet card/ a Wireless card / An additional SATA controler / A video card ...)
- No more power consumption than the kurobox.
- A price close to the kurobox HG one

It doesn't have :
- More RAM or a RAM slot to put how much RAM as you need
- An easy to use developpement kit (The community will bring this anyway)
- A 2.6 kernel patch that allow to use all kernel functions (The community is working on that too ;))

Of course the Kurobox Pro is not perfect (Have to remove some plastic parts to use a PCI-express card or to plug a eSATA drive), but I have to admit that it seems to be a nice hardware !


Last edited by Sylver on Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 6:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:24 pm
Posts: 287
Sylver wrote:
- An internal S-ATA controler with an eSATA connector to plug an external drive.


Actually, the connector on the daughter board for the second drive is a SATA connector


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 9:01 am
Posts: 279
Location: France, St Cyr-L'Ecole (78)
You're right (as always ;)), I'm going to edit my post.
So it means that to plug an eSATA disk we need a SATA to eSATA converter !


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited