Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Thu Jun 21, 2018 3:27 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:12 pm
Posts: 6
I used the manual setup with Alan's image for my new HG with a 300 GB HD. Everything works correctly except I cannot telnet into the box (I can ftp and HTTP in). Every time I try to telnet in, it gives me a fail to connect message. Please help.

Thank you,

Le


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 9:01 am
Posts: 279
Location: France, St Cyr-L'Ecole (78)
Try using putty (ssh) to connect your box ! Telnet may be disables in alanc's image !
You can also try using my image, i enabled telnet & SSH by default ;) (check my section in the forum)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 6:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:12 pm
Posts: 6
Ok. I got in using Putty. Thank you very much for your help. One more question. How can I re-enable telnet?

Thanks again,

Le


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 6:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 9:01 am
Posts: 279
Location: France, St Cyr-L'Ecole (78)
It's related to inetd/xinetd i think !
If alanc's image uses xinetd, add this in /etc/xinetd.conf :
service telnet
{
disable = no
socket_type = stream
protocol = tcp
wait = no
user = root
server = /usr/sbin/in.telnetd
log_on_failure += USERID
}

if it uses inetd, add this in /etc/inetd.conf :
telnet stream tcp nowait root /usr/sbin/tcpd in.telnetd

If it's not the problem, then i have no idea on why it doesn't work !

good luck ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:12 pm
Posts: 6
The system uses inetd. I am new to Linux so I don't know of way to modify the file. If it's not too much, please give me some instruction on how to do it.

Thank you,

Le


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 3:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 9:01 am
Posts: 279
Location: France, St Cyr-L'Ecole (78)
maybe "nano /etc/inetd.conf" or "vi /etc/inetd.conf" or "pico /etc/inetd.conf" depending on what is installed in alanc's image !
You can get the file using ftp, edit it with a linux friendly editor (notepad++ for example) and upload it ;)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited