Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:39 am

All times are UTC-06:00

Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 11:24 pm 

On that last kurobox sale, I added another kurobox to my collection of kuros/kuroHGs/linkstations - now, my existing kuro/kuroHG have always tended to be prone to the infamous clock slippage, but this was readily addressed via ntpdate & a daily cron without much problem on these.

However, on my new kurobox, the clock slippage has been *enormous* (it just managed to lose 12 hours over 36 hours!). Even running a daily ntpdate & setting up ntpd didn't seem to help. I tried using adjtime.pl to change the tick adjustment & found it failed, seemingly because the calculated value that it tried to apply to tickadj was too large (13349 - tickadj only seems to accept a range between 9000-11000).

I'm a relative newb with Sylver's install (I've previously used setup's based on the standard kuro installs), so it's possible I've mangled something somewhere - but I'm at a loss as to what to try next, to get the darned thing to keep time! If anyone has any ideas, they'll be most welcome!

Cheers, Limey.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 5:00 am 

dunno if this would help (coz I'm on Gentoo), but I just installed openntpd (a port from OpenBSD's ntpd) and it's dead easy to setup and looks like it is designed to keep the clock in sync all the time, because it's both a ntp server and a ntp client.

(maybe I'm too optimistic, it's a brand new install, but compated to the other ntp client I had, at least this one works ;))

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:40 pm 

I'm seeing the same enormous slippage problem that you are. So if you figure anything out, please post here.