Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:43 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 11
Location: Murcia (Spain)
Hello

I believe that amule has spoiled me and xbt...

How I make to return to install them?

Can you put the complete steps to follow?

Thanks, I am desperate


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 10:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 4:58 am
Posts: 9
maybe, making a upgrade of silver image you could reinstall your system without lose date, but wait confirmation of an expert :wink:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 1:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 11
Location: Murcia (Spain)
Can you to detail me the process?

Thanks


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 1:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 4:58 am
Posts: 9
Silver a dit :

Quote:
- Backup the data you want to keep (data that are not in /mnt directory) !
- mkfs -j /dev/hda1
- mount /dev/hda1 /mnt
- Send the .tar.gz image using ftp (login=root, password=kuro/kuroadmin) in /mnt directory
In a telnet session :
- cd /mnt
- tar xzfv imagev500.tar.gz
- rm imagev500.tar.gz
- write_ok (to leave the EM mode)
- reboot


But there certainly a better solution for only reinstall amule & xbt.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 11
Location: Murcia (Spain)
Thank you

It's easy

My donwloaded files are in /mnt directory on Hd of kurobox, lose that?

Excuse me for my english but not is my matter language

Thanks


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 6:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 4:58 am
Posts: 9
Juandroid wrote:
Thank you

It's easy

My donwloaded files are in /mnt directory on Hd of kurobox, lose that?


If you have follow sylver's installation instruction you must have this configuration :
hda1 -> systeme
hda2 -> swap
hda3 -> data

Reinstall system will ecrase all you're application configuration, but you will keep your data.

It easy to do :

Start your Kuro Box in EM (Emergency mode)
- usr/bin/write_ng & reboot
Telnet your Kuro Box as "root". Pass = kuro on a Kurobox & Pass = kuroadmin on a Kurobox HG
mkfs -j /dev/hda1
- mount /dev/hda1 /mnt
Send the .tar.gz image using ftp (login=root, password=kuro/kuroadmin) in /mnt directory
In a telnet session :
- cd /mnt
- tar xzfv imagev500.tar.gz
- rm imagev500.tar.gz
- write_ok (to leave the EM mode)
- reboot

And you should have a clean installation with all you're data


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 7:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 11
Location: Murcia (Spain)
Thank you


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 11
Location: Murcia (Spain)
How i start my Kurobox in EM mode?

What are exactly the instructions?

Thankyou


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 5:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 8:49 am
Posts: 219
Location: Virginia
Juandroid wrote:
How i start my Kurobox in EM mode?

What are exactly the instructions?


See the FAQ:

http://www.kurobox.com/mwiki/index.php/Frequently_Asked_Questions


HTH

russK


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 11
Location: Murcia (Spain)
With the FAQ I´m not resolved my problem.
Anyone save me please??


Top
   
 Post subject: Something similar...
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 3:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 11:26 pm
Posts: 7
I'm going through something similar with my Kuro-Box, it won't boot properly anymore (the Power light flashes for a long time, but eventually it shuts down with the Diag light blinking red) so it looks like I'm going to have to reinstall Kuro's image. But I don't want to completely reformat the drive because I have data I want to save in the /mnt partition (hda3).

My plan is to put a blank drive in the Kurobox, boot it up, then install the old drive then fsck hda1 and the swap (hda2) leaving hda3 intact, then going through the regular Sylver install process.

The trick seems to be getting it into EM mode. Will installing a blank hard drive, then turning the Kurobox off then installing the "defective" drive get me into EM mode?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Something similar...
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 8:49 am
Posts: 219
Location: Virginia
rtechie wrote:
The trick seems to be getting it into EM mode. Will installing a blank hard drive, then turning the Kurobox off then installing the "defective" drive get me into EM mode?


You're on the right track, assuming you don't have uboot, the trick you need is here in the FAQ: Forcing EM Mode


russK


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 11
Location: Murcia (Spain)
To force EM mode you have uninstall the 2.6.15 kernel from Sylver image and then force EM mode with instruction post below.
For uninstall 2.6 kernel --> ./scripts/set_kernel2.6.sh remove

Bye


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited