Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Mon Jun 25, 2018 9:21 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 4:17 pm
Posts: 25
Okay, I've tried gentoo and failed as you can see by reading my entries on this thread on the gentoo forum. Thought I'd give the Debian install a go by following these instructions using Sylver's image here but I've hit yet another full stop. Debian is loading okay as I can press the kuro's power button for 5s and it'll go off, but I can't login from an SSH shell.

I've put in /etc/network/interfaces:
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
      hostname `kuroBoxHG_mediaServer`


In /etc/hostname:
Code:
kuroBoxHG_mediaServer

And in /etc/hosts:
Code:
127.0.0.1   localhost
192.168.0.103   kuroBoxHG_mediaServer

(My DHCP server always assigns the kuro 192.168.0.103)

And in /etc/hosts.allow:
Code:
ALL : 192.168.x.0/255.255.255.0
ALL : 127.0.0.1


Looking around on the internet seems to show that these entries should work but they don't. It really is starting to get beyond a joke with getting this Kurobox to work. If anyone can offer some suggestions I'd appreciate it...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 9:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:46 am
Posts: 10
Quote:
And in /etc/hosts.allow:
Code:
ALL : 192.168.x.0/255.255.255.0
ALL : 127.0.0.1



should be:
Code:
ALL : 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0
ALL : 127.0.0.1



Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 4:17 pm
Posts: 25
greybeard wrote:
Quote:
And in /etc/hosts.allow:
Code:
ALL : 192.168.x.0/255.255.255.0
ALL : 127.0.0.1



should be:
Code:
ALL : 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0
ALL : 127.0.0.1


Yep, I eventually gathered that - thanks for the info.

Okay, the latest - finally figured things out and got access to the box, but the wiki install instructions definitely need changing. If I can find the time I'll have a go at updating them.

So far it's looking really good.


Top
   
 Post subject: ssh or telnet access?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 10:03 pm
Posts: 29
I'm in pretty much the same boat, I think. Can't get in by ssh, but I assumed that was because ssh wasn't installed with the debian image. Are you saying you have ssh access, or are you using telent to log in??

Just curious. Thanks - MMcK


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 4:17 pm
Posts: 25
twigman@yahoo.com wrote:
I'm in pretty much the same boat, I think. Can't get in by ssh, but I assumed that was because ssh wasn't installed with the debian image. Are you saying you have ssh access, or are you using telent to log in??

Just curious. Thanks - MMcK

The part in the wiki instructions regarding the setting up of the network doesn't need to be done as the image will overwrite anything you do. Once you've installed the image and rebooted you should be able to telnet in on port23 to IP 192.168.0.100 with the username tmp-kun and the password tmp-kun. Then su to root and carry on with the instructions...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited