Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:28 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 4
I have a debian box that i used at my storage server like kuro. It is filled with about 300gigs of media. I'm thinking about buying the kurobox because of the low power usage. My problem is I have nowhere to back that media up. Is it possible to install the debian distro made for kuro box on the hard drive without losing any media?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 14
Location: 78,Yvelines, France
No, I don't think it's possible. You should recreate atleast two separate partions(swap, boot and possibly home on your drive for kurobox. So u are forced to delete ur old partition or file sytem even if it was in debian(ext3). I am not going in details, you can refer to wiki for that.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 5:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 38
I think it is possible, but it depends on how you have partitioned your current debian box.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:29 pm
Posts: 4
It should be possible, though you'll need a partitioning software like PartitionMagic, that is able to retain existing data.

Roughly, you'll need to
1. Resize the existing partition, leaving 2304MB (2GB + 256MB) in front.
Code:
| 2304MB |   Remainder of drive, e.g. 300GB   |

2. Create a Primary partition of 2048MB at the front, using ext3/Linux filesystem
Code:
| 2048MB |    | Remainder of drive, e.g. 300GB   |

3. Convert the remainder partition to a Logical partition
4. Create a partition at the front of this Logical partition, of the remaining unallocated size, using Linux Swap filesystem.
5. Convert the existing partition to ext3/Linux filesystem.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 4
right now my partition table looks like this

Code:
  
   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1         243     1951866   83  Linux
/dev/hda2           36389       36483      763087+   5  Extended
/dev/hda3             244       36388   290334712+  83  Linux
/dev/hda5           36389       36483      763056   82  Linux swap / Solaris


even if i used partition magic i could loose data. i think i'll just find ways to backup the stuff lol. i would have to resize my first partition. move my swap partition to the front, and its all mixed up. thanks for the answers!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 4:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 38
You would not need to do any repartitioning. Here is the output of 'df' on my kurobox:
Code:
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda1              3945128    389540   3355180  11% /
..
/dev/hda3            283990836 185105160  84459708  69% /mnt



As you can see about 11% of a 4G partition is used for installing debian (and I installed some extra SW).

The only thing you have to watch out for/might have problems with is installing additional programs.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 9:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 4
i wouldn't need any resizing?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 3:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 38
Not that I can see, but your hda1 partition might be a bit small depending on what you want to install. For a default install with samba and NFS servers added it should be enough (I believe that all I installed)

BUT you might want to backup your data anyway in case something goes wrong when you do the install


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 4:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:05 am
Posts: 4
hmm thanks for the info. i'll give it a try.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:29 pm
Posts: 4
Good luck :)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited