Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:39 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 6:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 1:25 am
Posts: 8
Location: Göteborg, SWEDEN
The text below comes from another thread, but I thought it would fit in here. http://kurobox.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=21

All appretiation should go to the orginal author, David (akamichi).

[quote]
Hi all,

This will be a long post, so please bear with me. I've quickly thrown together this guide to help people install the software on the kuro without using the setup program.

It's a very rough draft and any feedback would be appreciated.


- David (akamichi)
----------------------------------------------

Kuro box manual install (Draft v0.1)
by David W.

Introduction:

This document shows how to setup your Kurobox without using the KuroBoxSetup.exe tool.
Most of this information was derived from various postings on Yamashita san's webpage and BBS.
His site can be seen here: http://www.yamasita.jp/linkstation/

Quick Start:
This document assumes you haven't or are unable to use the KuroBoxSetup.exe tool. If you've already
setup the box via the tool and you want to start from scratch, push the red button on the back of
the unit while turning it on to go into EM mode. If you have just installed a new HD, then the box should go into EM mode automatically.

Finally you need a HD installed of course and some way of ftping a file from some other box to the Kuro.

0. Put the box into EM mode (Emergency mode?)
1. Telnet in as root. Pass = kuro
Note that when you telnet in, your box name should KURO-BOX-EM
2. mfdisk -d 3 /dev/hda
Creates standard Linkstation/Kurobox partitions (3 partitions)
3. mkfs -j /dev/hda1
4. mkfs -j /dev/hda3
5. mkswap /dev/hda2
6. mount /dev/hda1 /mnt

From your other box, ftp into Kurobox:
7. ftp into kurobox and transfer image.zip from the CD to /mnt

Back in telnet session:
8. cd /mnt
9. unzip image.zip
10. tar xvfz tmpimage.tgz

11. write_ok (This is IMPORTANT! Kurobox will not leave EM mode on reboot unless you do this command)
12. reboot

**********************************************************

Detailed information:

This is the output of the commands that I performed on my Kuro box with a Seagate 120GB HD installed.


Kroutoshikou KURO-BOX (IETSUNA)
kernel 2.4.17-kuro-box on ppc

KURO-BOX-EM login: root
Password:
# mfdisk
Partition table manipulator for BUFFALO INC. Link Station series. ver 1.5, 2003.10.3

Usage: mfdisk DISK Create partition tables for HD-LAN ver 1.xx
mfdisk -f DISK Create partition tables for HD-LAN ver 2.xx
mfdisk -h DISK Create partition tables for HD-HLAN
mfdisk -g [1:2:3:5:10:20:50] DISK Create partition tables
mfdisk -a DISK Create partition table for HD-HLAN's USB Disk
mfdisk -c DISK Create partition table(s) with menu
mfdisk -p DISK Check partition table(s)
mfdisk -e DISK Deleate all partition tables
mfdisk -d [1:2:3:4] DISK Create partition tables for Link Station
Here DISK is something like /dev/hda or /dev/sda

# mfdisk -d 3 /dev/hda
create partitions...
limit = 257039
start = 63, stop(limit) = 257039
limit = 771119
start = 257040, stop(limit) = 771119
limit = 234436544
start = 771120, stop(limit) = 234436544
The partition table has been altered!

Syncing disks.
# mkfs -j /dev/hda1
mke2fs 1.22, 22-Jun-2001 for EXT2 FS 0.5b, 95/08/09
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=1024 (log=0)
Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
32128 inodes, 128488 blocks
6424 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=1
16 block groups
8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
2008 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
8193, 24577, 40961, 57345, 73729

Writing inode tables: done
Creating journal (4096 blocks): done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

This filesystem will be automatically checked every 35 mounts or
180 days, whichever comes first. Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.


# mkfs -j /dev/hda3
mke2fs 1.22, 22-Jun-2001 for EXT2 FS 0.5b, 95/08/09
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=4096 (log=2)
Fragment size=4096 (log=2)
14614528 inodes, 29208178 blocks
1460408 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=0
892 block groups
32768 blocks per group, 32768 fragments per group
16384 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
32768, 98304, 163840, 229376, 294912, 819200, 884736, 1605632, 2654208,
4096000, 7962624, 11239424, 20480000, 23887872

Writing inode tables: done
Creating journal (8192 blocks): done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

This filesystem will be automatically checked every 25 mounts or
180 days, whichever comes first. Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.
# mkswap /dev/hda2
Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 263204864 bytes

# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt

***************************************************
dfw@aoi ~/kuro102 $ ncftp -u root 192.168.123.3
NcFTP 3.1.8 (Jul 27, 2004) by Mike Gleason (http://www.NcFTP.com/contact/).
Connecting to 192.168.123.3...
KURO-BOX-EM FTP server (Version 6.4/OpenBSD/Linux-ftpd-0.17) ready.
Logging in...
Password requested by 192.168.123.3 for user "root".

Password required for root.

Password:

Linux 2.4.17 ppc unknown
User root logged in.
Logged in to 192.168.123.3.
ncftp /root > bin
ncftp /root > cd /mnt
ncftp /mnt > put image.zip
346.00 B 8.53 kB/s
image.zip: 17.57 MB 3.90 MB/s
ncftp /mnt > exit
*******************************************************

# df
Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/ram0 9677 5106 4571 53% /
# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt
# cd /mnt
# ls
image.zip lost+found
# unzip image.zip
Archive: image.zip
inflating: tmpimage.tgz
# tar xvfz tmpimage.tgz
.
.
.
.


# ps ax
PID TTY Uid Size State Command
1 root 1448 S init
2 root 0 S [keventd]
3 root 0 S [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
4 root 0 S [kswapd]
5 root 0 S [bdflush]
6 root 0 S [kupdated]
39 root 1436 S dhcpcd -h KURO-BOX-EM -t 3 eth0
57 root 1732 S /sbin/syslogd
59 root 1500 S /sbin/klogd
67 root 1592 S /usr/sbin/ap_servd -i eth0 -c
72 root 1552 S /usr/sbin/inetd
76 root 1420 S /usr/sbin/ppc_uartd
78 ttyS0 root 1436 S /sbin/getty console
79 root 1696 S in.telnetd: 192.168.123.105
80 root 1548 S -ash
107 root 0 S [kjournald]
116 root 1852 R ps ax
#

# write_ok
argv: write_ok
# reboot

Kroutoshikou KURO-BOX (IETSUNA)
kernel 2.4.17_kuro-box on ppc

KURO-BOX login: root
Password:
Linux (none) 2.4.17_kuro-box #2 2004ǯ 3·î 18Æü ÌÚÃ


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 1:40 pm
Posts: 49
Hi,

This one is pretty good too, thanks to it I could install Debian on my Kuro at the first boot, I have never installed the stock image but only Debian.

http://www.kurobox.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=472&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=debian

Hi,

this is a small Guide to replace the original Linux (and its WebInterface) with a
Debian 3.0 Woody Installation - the way I done it :-))

CAUTION:
Think about backuping ANY Data, because within the installation all partitions
would be deleted and your DATA WILL BE LOST.
This guide is without any warranty!


First Part - Setting up the HardDisk:
-------------------------------------

Set you Kuro (mine is a HG-Version) in EM Mode

If you got shell access you could use:
echo -n "NGNG" > /dev/fl3
reboot

If you didnt got access (you secured your Linux to much to access via shell)
then hold the red button on the back some seconds an then (while holding the red button)
press the power-button at the front. The DIAG Led will flash and the Kuro should power down
after a short while of time.

My Kuro is in a static-IP enviroment, so the IP will be 192.168.11.150 at this time and
the login would be root/kuroadmin. I think root/kuro for the non-HG-Version.

Set your second computers network interface to the a address like 192.168.11.25
and login via telnet to 192.168.11.150

First we would DELETE ALL partitions and data
with the command
mfdisk -e /dev/hda

then we would recreate partitions manually via the command
mfdisk -c /dev/hda
(this is the menue-driven interactive mode)

Our goal is to create the following partiton-table:
/dev/hda1 Bootable Typ 83(Linux) 2GB
/dev/hda2 Typ 82(LinuxSwap) 256MB
/dev/hda3 Typ 83(Linux) the rest of the Disk

All new partitions which will be created with the "n" command are Typ 83.
For hda1 use the First Sector (default) and give as size +2048M (for 2GB).
For hda2 use the first default sector after hda1 and give as size +256M (for 256MB).
For hda3 use the first default sector after hda2 and use the default last sector
for using the rest of the disk.

Set the hda the bootable flag (see the menue via the "m" help) and change the type
for hda2 to 82 via the "t" command.

Now you should have the wanted table of partitions and you could write him to Disk via the "w" command.

Now its time to make the filesystems:
mkfs -j /dev/hda1
mkfs -j /dev/hda3

and the Swapspace

mkswap /dev/hda2

Just mount hda1 via
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt

Get the debain-distribution at http://210.166.208.216/kuro-box/archive ... 6_dist.tgz
and transfer the file via FTP from another computer to the directory /mnt on the Kuro.

Now change via
cd /mnt
to the directory and untar the debian-distribution via
tar xvfz debian_2004_12_26_dist.tgz

Now you should use the command
write_ok
to tell the Kuro to not startup next time in EM Mode.

Just reboot the Kuro:
reboot


Second Part - The first boot of debian:
---------------------------------------

After the reboot from above your Kuro has (again) a new static Network-configuration.
IP 192.168.0.100 (Gateway and DNS is set to 192.168.0.1 - so no InterNet at this time)

Set your second computers network interface to the a address like 192.168.0.25
and login via telnet to 192.168.0.100 (this could take some time within the first try)

Because of the user root has no right to telnet in you have to use the user tmp-kun
with the password tmp-kun
After you logged in as tmp-kun you could su to the root-user via
su
and the password root

For editing and some lowend terminal you should set your terminal-enviroment to vt100
export TERM=vt100

The first action should be to change the network enviroment to your network.
For this step you have to edit the /etc/network/interfaces
For my network it look like
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.6.60
network 192.168.6.0
netmask 255.255.255.0
broadcast 192.168.6.255
gateway 192.168.6.1
iface lo inet loopback

The second IMPORTANT step is to allow your new network-configuration to login into your
Kuro the next time you want to login.
If you did forget this step YOU COULD BE CLOSED OUT of your system.

You have to edit the file /etc/hosts.allow
There you should add your network :
ALL : 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0
ALL : 192.168.6.0/255.255.255.0
ALL : 127.0.0.1


Dont forget to save the config-file every time you changed them.


Third Part - The second boot of debian:
---------------------------------------

After the reboot from above your Kuro has (again) a new static Network-configuration.
IP 192.168.6.60 (Gateway is 192.168.6.1 and DNS is set to 192.168.0.1 - so no InterNet at this time)

Set your second computers network interface to the a address like 192.168.6.25
and login via telnet to 192.168.6.60

Because of the user root has no right to telnet in you have to use the user tmp-kun
with the password tmp-kun
After you logged in as tmp-kun you could su to the root-user via
su
and the password root

For editing and some lowend terminal you should set your terminal-enviroment to vt100
export TERM=vt100

Now for enabling the access to the Internet your Kuro should use a DNS, but the DNS
at this time is 192.168.0.1 which isnt really available at the most home-networks :-))

You should edit the file /etc/resolv.conf and add your favourite DNS-Server or
you just add the standard DNS-Server from the "Telekom" here in Germany like me :-))

This looks like:
search
nameserver 194.25.2.129
nameserver 192.168.0.1


You could delete the line with the nameserver 192.168.0.1 (like the network 192.168.0.0 in the
/etc/hosts.allow)

Now you could try a ping at a known website like
ping www.kurobox.com
PING kurobox.com (205.234.148.160): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 205.234.148.160: icmp_seq=0 ttl=53 time=153.5 ms

For security-reasons you should add your own personal user with
adduser

delete the standard-user tmp-kun with
deleteuser tmp-kun

and set a new password for root while you are logged in as root via
passwd

Now you could update the debian-package list via
apt-get update

and then update your currently installed packages via
apt-get upgrade

or you could search for additional software like webmin via
apt-cache search webmin


So I installed webmin and webmin-samba and webmin-core and webmin-exports

While installing Samba (its depending with webmin-samba) you should select to use
encrypted passwords.

After installing you could create a new SMB-share, enable the users to use SMB-Shares,
settimg the smb-password via webmin.

The directory of the share should set with the right access rights via chmod
(in emergency cases you have to use chmod -R 777 /mnt (my share to hda3) to have access).

debian seems to use a little amount of memory in the kuro. also a 64MB non-HG-Kuro
should serve debian just fine with a 256MB swap-space on disk:

14:04:40 up 1:06, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
23 processes: 22 sleeping, 1 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
CPU states: 1.0% user, 1.4% system, 0.0% nice, 97.6% idle
Mem: 127088K total, 61644K used, 65444K free, 1508K buffers
Swap: 265064K total, 0K used, 265064K free, 48800K cached

So thats my first install-report here and I hope you did enjoy debian on the Kuro :-))

Greetings from Germany
Guido.

AshK


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 8:54 pm
Posts: 7
thanks for the guide! the installation was quite easy. the gentoo install was not going well for me since i'm a debian user. just can't beat apt-get!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 38
Hi,

Nice guide. I do have however a few suggestion reducing the number of reboots needed (I do NOT like reboots :P ):
1 There is a newer version available http://210.166.208.216/kuro-box/archive/debian_2005_04_09_dist.tgz
2 After untarring the image, but before you reboot you can make all needed changes to the 'hosts.allow' and 'interfaces' files.

Have fun


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 177
Location: MA
Good job finding the updated Debian overlay. I have put a copy at:
http://kurobox.com/debian/downloads

As we don't have a debian maintainer, and I have not installed this let myself, I must say use at your own caution. If you do please report your findings.

_________________
Hint of the day: See pages added to the wiki via RSS: http://www.kurobox.com/mwiki/index.php? ... s&feed=rss

Thanks
Brian


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 3:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 38
I've 2 Kuros (no HG) running with this image. One as a NFS/SAMBA server one to play around with.
Sofar I have not experienced any problems and everything is running smoothly.

Have fun


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:06 pm
Posts: 6
rosco_pc wrote:
I've 2 Kuros (no HG) running with this image. One as a NFS/SAMBA server one to play around with.
Sofar I have not experienced any problems and everything is running smoothly.

Have fun


I am wondering how you got NFS to work. I tried before, but wasn't successful, maybe I should give it another try. And how is the performance compare to Samba?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 38
Installing NFS is as easy as typing:

apt-get install nfs-user-server

Also have a look at http://nfs.sf.net

WRT to speed, I have no idea, never tested it. I do not really need Samba as all my boxes at home are running LInux (I abandonned windows at the time of Win95, my first PC came installed with that and I ran it for about 3 months. Before that I had Ataris/Macs/..). I only installed Samba to connect a work PC, which I never got to work properly and used FTP instead

Good luck


Top
   
 Post subject: Sarge
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 10:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 4:26 am
Posts: 74
Hi all

Has anybody been successful installing Sarge on the Kurobox (HG)? I compiled a 2.6.15 kernel with NFS-root support and USB-serial support, hoping to get the installler console there (btw, doing "console=ttyUSB0" with an FTDI serial dongle Oopses on boot, I'll have a look into it, unless someone knows the solution already?). Now I hoped to get some installer image, loopback-mount it on the NFS-host and boot into it from the Kurobox... But I don't find anything suitable! All install images I've found so far are compressed initrd's and I don't know how to mount those... I've done this once for ARM with Woody... Anybody any ideas? If I install Woody using the existing image, AFAIR, you cannot dist-upgrade to sarge without booting from a CD... So, the same problem... Or am I mistaken?

Thanks
Guennadi


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Sarge
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 1:36 pm
Posts: 299
lyakh wrote:
Has anybody been successful installing Sarge on the Kurobox (HG)?

baulab has a sarge image here for both HG and standard KBs:
http://genbako.vodapone.com/debian-2.6.15/


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 3:21 am
Posts: 26
The image returns either a zero response or a permission denied.

Could you please let me know how else I could get it.

Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 7:46 am
Posts: 29
use wget from your terminal (unless you are a windows user). I have retreived them successfully

_________________
Kuro-Box HG
from pricejapan.com


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 2:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 3:21 am
Posts: 26
Can baulabs image just be extracted now or does it need tweaking?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited