Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Thu Jun 21, 2018 3:50 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Did I brick it?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:49 am
Posts: 5
Last night I tried to flash U-boot on my HG with u-boot-hg.flash.bin from http://www.kurobox.com/downloads/Flash_ ... otloaders/. After inserting a new drive and after rebooting I can't access the box -- the power light slowly blinks and the Link/Act light is mostly on. I left it on over night but in the morning the lights were still blinking as before. Have I just created a brick?

Jamie


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:24 pm
Posts: 287
did you watch the boot messages with net console? I would try that first.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:49 am
Posts: 5
Dave Taylor wrote:
did you watch the boot messages with net console? I would try that first.


Ah, ha - I wasn't using 192.168.1.149 for my own address. I reconfigured that and now when the Kurobox boots, I see it recognizes the drive.

There isn't any partitioning info yet on the drive, and no kernel. I think it's going into EM mode -- says "Loading Ramdisk at 0x07C58000, end 0x07E6E615 ... OK", then "Booting the kernel", but then I don't seem to be able to do anything. Is there a way to run telnet or ftp in EM mode? Or can I partition the drive / install a kernel on a different system and then stick it back into the Kuro?

J


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 1:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:24 pm
Posts: 287
from the u-boot console:
If you are using the stock firmimg type
Code:
writeng

and then type
[code]run emboot[code] and it will boot to em mode. From there you can install your system on hda.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 5:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:49 am
Posts: 5
Dave Taylor wrote:
from the u-boot console:
If you are using the stock firmimg type
Code:
writeng

and then type
[code]run emboot[code] and it will boot to em mode. From there you can install your system on hda.


Thank you! I got it to boot using one of sylver's kernel's. Sort of. But at least I know I don't have a brick :)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited