Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:49 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 9:31 pm
Posts: 12
Guys, make some noise. Let me know who is out there running Fedora build on your Kuro.

How about tell us some thing on how do you use it and what you do wish for?

Me?

Kuro/HG
- NFS to host iTune files
- Samba to let windows users to pull files
- lighttp to host my O'Reilly bookshelf
- cache DNS
- tftp and DHCP for PXE boot linux installation
- ntop for fancy graphs to kill time

Wish/2WorkOnLater
- Is there anything for the Apple Bonjour thing?
- http proxy some day, work place blocks Gmail.
- syslog dump

KuroPotato

_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Fat 300GB drive Kuro running everything I need


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 7:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 10:14 pm
Posts: 40
Hello fellow Fedora users,

My Fedora Kuro box is dedicated to my house VOIP system. Asterisk, MySQL, PHP, Apache, AMP. So far so good.

I have a new image that I'm putting together based on bconoboy's original image. Updates include:

    kernel 2.6.15.4 (few more kernel modules, like autofs)
    updated rebooter which doesn't use ppc_uartd
    kuro-release file which points to the repo I setuup at kurobox.com
    kuro-initscripts which include kuroevtd, and support for reboot/shutdown


Nothing is in the above repo yet, but I should get asterisk in there this weekend. I don't have rpms built of AMP yet, that might take a little longer. There is the Asterisk-kuro image available in the mean time. If others have rpms that they would like to share then please pass them along.


Top
   
 Post subject: New FC4 Kuro
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 2:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:55 am
Posts: 19
Just got my Kuro running FC4. First time my Kuro has run anything. out of the box right to FC4.

I am planning on running it in place of my server.
Samba
ClamAv
Fetchmail
DNS
DHCP Server
NTP

Don't have much on it yet. Just installing leenuxg33k's initscripts. Once thats done, then I will start with my packages and setup. Who knows what I will eventaully run on this thing. hehe. I think my samsung laser is going to be a hoot though. hehe.

_________________
----------------------------------------------
Brand new Kuro still in the box!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 3:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 9:24 am
Posts: 8
Location: NH
Good afternoon...

I too am running FC4. I tried Gentoo for a while, but was not satisfied with the package management system (I manage RHEL systems at work). I'm looking to run Fedora Directory on this box, along with bind, samba, the works.... I have an eye towards running EVMS with a stack of SATA drives (via USB) so that I can have a truly low-power RAID system here.

Eliot

_________________
Lack Of planning on your part does not constitute an Emergency on my part


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:55 am
Posts: 19
elebsack wrote:
Good afternoon...

I too am running FC4. I tried Gentoo for a while, but was not satisfied with the package management system (I manage RHEL systems at work). I'm looking to run Fedora Directory on this box, along with bind, samba, the works.... I have an eye towards running EVMS with a stack of SATA drives (via USB) so that I can have a truly low-power RAID system here.

Eliot


Have you found which USB enclosures you are going to use? I was going to get a readyNas NV to attach to the network as well, but USB drives may be a good solution as well.

_________________
----------------------------------------------

Brand new Kuro still in the box!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 9:24 am
Posts: 8
Location: NH
It's a toss up at this point. I was thinking about getting

http://www.cooldrives.com/qubaysatousb.html

or, even cheaper, a stack of single enclosures:

http://www.usbgear.com/computer_cable_d ... =170%2C161

Eliot

_________________
Lack Of planning on your part does not constitute an Emergency on my part


Top
   
 Post subject: Raid?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:55 am
Posts: 19
elebsack wrote:
It's a toss up at this point. I was thinking about getting

http://www.cooldrives.com/qubaysatousb.html

or, even cheaper, a stack of single enclosures:

http://www.usbgear.com/computer_cable_d ... =170%2C161

Eliot

Thanks. I like the 4 bay enclosure. Thats pretty nice.
You mentioned that you were going to use EVMS for a low power RAID. I guess my question is, do you think the 266 in the Kuro is going to be enough to handle the XOR processing for the raid. I was maybe opting for a USB enclosure and software raid instead of the ReadyNAS because of the bad throughput of the ReadyNAS. From their forums, your talking maybe 12mb read and 8-10mb write. Thats pretty pathetic. Do you think the EMVS Raid will be able to outperform that?

_________________
----------------------------------------------

Brand new Kuro still in the box!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 9:24 am
Posts: 8
Location: NH
You raise a good point about throughput. However, I did not envision this to be a high-performance RAID - merely one that was enough to do the job. Yes, a RAID 5 does take a bit of CPU to maintain parity, esp. on write, but this is an experiment for me.

Most of my RAID experience is with dedicated hardware, so this is an uncharted area for me.

Eliot

_________________
Lack Of planning on your part does not constitute an Emergency on my part


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 5:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:55 am
Posts: 19
elebsack wrote:
You raise a good point about throughput. However, I did not envision this to be a high-performance RAID - merely one that was enough to do the job. Yes, a RAID 5 does take a bit of CPU to maintain parity, esp. on write, but this is an experiment for me.

Most of my RAID experience is with dedicated hardware, so this is an uncharted area for me.

Eliot


Please keep me informed of your progress. I already have the drives and would only need the enclosure. Currently I have a dual p4 xeon with hardware raid as my server. I will sacrifice speed for savings on the power bill. Especially considering they are talking an increase in the cost of power by 74-85% this year in Maryland. Damn deregulation. hehe. Anyway, please let me know how it goes.

joe

_________________
----------------------------------------------

Brand new Kuro still in the box!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 6:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 99
Location: France
speaking of HW RAID, anyone here has tested/used a USB enclosure that does hardware RAID 0 or 1 ? (something like this)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 7:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:55 am
Posts: 19
Tallinu wrote:
speaking of HW RAID, anyone here has tested/used a USB enclosure that does hardware RAID 0 or 1 ? (something like this)


Not I. Sorry. I ended up using a Broadcom RaidCORE card. I haven't used anything like this before.

_________________
----------------------------------------------

Brand new Kuro still in the box!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 4:58 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Seattle, WA
Tallinu wrote:
speaking of HW RAID, anyone here has tested/used a USB enclosure that does hardware RAID 0 or 1 ? (something like this)


I would think someting like the ReadyNAS X6 by Infrant Tech would be a better chioce for hardware RAID. It does cost about 25% more than the Ultrex G5, but has more drive slots and does not need a Kurobox as a host. You can even NFS mount the ReadyNAS drive to your Kurobox.

-- Mig


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited