Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Thu Jun 21, 2018 3:38 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Succesful Debian install
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 11:46 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Uithoorn, the Netherlands
Hi Everybody,

I have bought a 500 MB drive this night and installed Debian, Freelink distribution. No problems with that. Instructions on the Wiki's work perfectly.

Regards, Kris


For the rest I am on the transformer I still had from the old Kuro. Count me in if someone is going to buy new power units...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 38
HI,

I can also confirm that freelink works like a charm.

If you, like me, already formatted the HD by pressing the red button on the back, you can get back to zero with the following easy steps:

[WARNING]: !!! I just saw that this is not working for everybody, it worked for me after I installed the original FW !!!
    0. Note that you will lose ALL data on the HD, so backup if needed
    1. Login to the Kurobox via telnet
    2. Un-mount the HDD
    Code:
     umount /mount/disk1

    3. Remove the partition(s) from the HDD
    Code:
    ~ # fdisk /dev/sda

    The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 60801.
    There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
    and could in certain setups cause problems with:
    1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
    2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
       (e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)

    Command (m for help): d
    Selected partition 1

    Command (m for help):
    Command (m for help): p

    Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

       Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System

    Command (m for help): w
    The partition table has been altered!

    Calling ioctl() to re-read partition table.
    Syncing disks.


Now you can proceed to install a new distribution.[/url]


Last edited by rosco_pc on Sat Aug 25, 2007 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 4:00 pm
Posts: 3
kris wrote:
Hi Everybody,

I have bought a 500 MB drive this night and installed Debian, Freelink distribution. No problems with that. Instructions on the Wiki's work perfectly.


Very good news... I'll install Freelink as soon as possible :-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 6:41 pm
Posts: 2
kris wrote:
Hi Everybody,

I have bought a 500 MB drive this night and installed Debian, Freelink distribution. No problems with that. Instructions on the Wiki's work perfectly.



Can you provide the links? There is no mention of the Freelink distribution from the debian install page[1] at kurobox.com.

Thanks,
William

[1] http://www.kurobox.com/mwiki/index.php/Debian_install


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 7:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 8:07 pm
Posts: 7
Location: USA
There are instructs on the Pro wiki.

http://www.kurobox.com/mwiki/index.php/ ... 8Debian.29


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 6:41 pm
Posts: 2
OK, so you are using a Pro. I'm using the standard KuroBox which is probably why this distribution wasn't mentioned. Thanks for the reply.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 3:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 9:01 am
Posts: 279
Location: France, St Cyr-L'Ecole (78)
I have successfully used the wiki instructions to install freelink on my kurobox pro :)
I didn't try to install any other image before, but I guess that, as the installation changes uboot setting, putting a blank disk after a system installation will change the behaviour of the kurobox with a blank disk.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:34 am
Posts: 18
I got Debian installed just fine tonight. New box and new HD was the starting point...

GREAT instructions guys, no problem. The /etc/fstab I ended with is different than the one in the wiki, I am not sure what would cause one install to have a different fstab than another but mine ended up:

proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=20 0 0
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs size=10M,mode=1777 0 0
/dev/sda3 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/sda1 /boot ext3 defaults,noatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
/dev/sda4 /mnt/disk1 xfs defaults,noatime,nodiratime 0 0

The only other "problem" I had was that swap wasn't made, I had to do a mkswap /dev/sda3 and then swapon. But... that's it!

Now onto more fun! Gotta get my gigethernet subnet going!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited