Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:00 am

All times are UTC-06:00

Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 8:23 pm 

Hello there,

I am very new to both KuroBox and linux, but here's what I did and maybe someone can tell me what to do next.

I got a brand new KuroBox Pro and installed a 500Gb SATA drive into it.

I followed the Wiki instructions to install "Buffalo Provided Developer System". (ie. copied 4 files off the CD to /mtd device/, hit the red button.)

That was working okay, but then I decided that I really should have installed Freelink Debian.

However I notived I could no longer access the the /mtd device/ share to follow the Freelink instructions. There was just a /home/ share.

I saw this post (http://www.kurobox.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1645) that recommended unmounting the drive and deleted the partitions. There were 4 partitions in total, so I deleted them all.

I rebooted the KuroBox (power off, power on) and now I can't access it at all. There is a steady power light and an occassionally active Link/Act light.

After the reboot I was expecting to be able to access the /mtd device/ folder to "start over" but apparently that's not the case!

Any pointers would be most welcome.

Maybe it's worth mentioning that my long term goal is a samba server, FTP server, web server, and hopefully a efficient torrent client.

Thanks!
James

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 10:56 pm 

Hi,

I'm the original author of those steps. It definitely worked for me when I did this.
I'm sorry it did not work for you and can not really help you on how to solve this (I've place a warning in the original thread).

However I never the used the CD to get the PRO up and running, just pressed the red button. That might be the difference.