Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:01 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 9:24 am
Posts: 8
Location: NH
I hate to do this, but I need to point out that there is a lot of info on U-boot, and it is very confusing.

I have a Kurobox HG, and when I boot into EM mode, I see that the kernel image stored in the flash is the "2.4.17_mvl21" version. I have not installed uboot yet.

I currently have Sylver's latest Debian image installed on my HG. It is running the kernel "2.6.17.1-mh1_kuro-box".

In the "HOWTO U-Boot" wiki page, there are several sets of directions. It's not clear to me which one I should be using - the 2.4.x set, or the 2.6.x set for the HG.

The "linuxnotincluded" set of directions provides info for the Kurobox Std with the "2.4.17_mvl21-sandpoint" kernel, and the Kurobox HG with the "2.4.20_mvl31-ppc_linkstation" kernel. Does this mean I need to reconstruct my kernel build tree? Or, can I use the uloader stuff they link to? They also mention that the gcc version should match, but I have no idea which gcc was used to build the kernel...

Help!

Eliot

_________________
Lack Of planning on your part does not constitute an Emergency on my part


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 2:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:46 am
Posts: 82
I know what you mean, when i was 1st looking to migrate i couldnt understand any of it...

when i finally did , i followed this guide http://www.kurobox.com/mwiki/index.php/Kurobox_support_in_stock_2.6_kernels
It was simple to follow and i didnt have any problems.

The only issues for me were the post uboot changes, for example , ttyS0 and ttyS1 have swapped round and the AVR Watchdog needs attention (if you start rebooting every 5 mins or so, then look at the AVR scripts)

I would just give it a go
Note: if you get to the pre flash check (boot from ram i think) and it doesnt work then stop cus you have not erased anything yet.

_________________
monkeyboy


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited