Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:24 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 10:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Posts: 110
Awesome! I would love to give it a try. I'm not quite sure where the "downloads" section is located though. I did come across this but I didn't see anything related to what you mentioned.

Thanks!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 7:34 am
Posts: 56
Location: UK
Did you find it okay? I PM'd you the link so hopefully you have had a chance to give it a go. I may also want some info from your system too if that is okay?

Can you ping the uname -a and a dmesg dump from boot?

_________________
-------------------------------------------
KuroPRO.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 9:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Posts: 110
Yup, I just tried compiling it. Sorry, I had thought that it was uploaded to the kurobox.com site.

When I do a make install, I seem to be getting an error. I'm probably doing something wrong but this is what I get:

Code:
# make install
test -d /etc/melco || \
        gcc -Wall -s -Os -o PPC/avr_evtd avr_evtd.c  -DNO_BUTTONS -DNO_MELCO
avr_evtd.c: In function 'check_timer':
avr_evtd.c:1711: warning: format '%d' expects type 'int', but argument 2 has type 'long int'
avr_evtd.c:1711: warning: format '%d' expects type 'int', but argument 3 has type 'long int'
test ! -d /etc/melco || \
        gcc -Wall -s -Os -o PPC/avr_evtd avr_evtd.c  -DNO_BUTTONS
#
# ENSURE DAEMON IS STOPPED
if [ -e /etc/init.d/avr_evtd ]; then /etc/init.d/avr_evtd stop ; fi
Stop services: avr_evtd
rm -f /etc/init.d/avr_evtd
if [ -e /usr/bin/strip ]; then strip --strip-unneeded avr_evtd ; fi
strip: avr_evtd: File format not recognized
make: *** [install] Error 1


What I did was first renamed the original AVR files that I had in my src directory. Then I uploaded the files you gave (Makefile, avr_evtd, avr_avtd.c) and did a chmod so that they matched the original.

Here's the other info you requested:

Code:
# uname -a
Linux KUROBOX 2.6.22.2 #1 Thu Aug 16 13:59:11 CDT 2007 ppc GNU/Linux


Code:
# dmesg
Using Buffalo Linkstation machine description
Linux version 2.6.22.2 (kuroadmin@KUROBOX) (gcc version 4.1.2 20061115 (prerelease) (Debian 4.1.1-21)) #1 Thu Aug 16 13:59:11 CDT 2007
Found legacy serial port 0 for /soc10x/serial@80004500
  mem=80004500, taddr=80004500, irq=0, clk=130041000, speed=9600
Found legacy serial port 1 for /soc10x/serial@80004600
  mem=80004600, taddr=80004600, irq=0, clk=130041000, speed=57600
Entering add_active_range(0, 0, 32768) 0 entries of 256 used
Adding PCI host bridge /soc10x/pci@fec00000
BUFFALO Network Attached Storage Series
(C) 2002-2005 BUFFALO INC.
Top of RAM: 0x8000000, Total RAM: 0x8000000
Memory hole size: 0MB
Zone PFN ranges:
  DMA             0 ->    32768
  Normal      32768 ->    32768
early_node_map[1] active PFN ranges
    0:        0 ->    32768
On node 0 totalpages: 32768
  DMA zone: 256 pages used for memmap
  DMA zone: 0 pages reserved
  DMA zone: 32512 pages, LIFO batch:7
  Normal zone: 0 pages used for memmap
Built 1 zonelists.  Total pages: 32512
Kernel command line: root=/dev/sda1 netconsole=6666@<kuro's IP>/,@<workstations IP>/ rtc-rs5c372.probe=0,0x32
netconsole: local port 6666
netconsole: local IP <kuro's IP>
netconsole: interface eth0
netconsole: remote port 6666
netconsole: remote IP <workstation's IP>
netconsole: remote ethernet address ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
mpic: Setting up MPIC " EPIC     " version 1.2 at 80040000, max 1 CPUs
mpic: ISU size: 4, shift: 2, mask: 3
mpic: Initializing for 12 sources
PID hash table entries: 512 (order: 9, 2048 bytes)
time_init: decrementer frequency = 32.522240 MHz
time_init: processor frequency   = 262.144000 MHz
Console: colour dummy device 80x25
console handover: boot [udbg0] -> real [tty0]
Dentry cache hash table entries: 16384 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)
Memory: 126420k/131072k available (3064k kernel code, 4488k reserved, 132k data, 106k bss, 148k init)
Calibrating delay loop... 64.92 BogoMIPS (lpj=324608)
Mount-cache hash table entries: 512
NET: Registered protocol family 16
PCI: Probing PCI hardware
PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 1 of device 0000:00:00.0
PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 5 of device 0000:00:0c.0
SCSI subsystem initialized
libata version 2.21 loaded.
usbcore: registered new interface driver usbfs
usbcore: registered new interface driver hub
usbcore: registered new device driver usb
NET: Registered protocol family 2
IP route cache hash table entries: 1024 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
TCP established hash table entries: 4096 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)
TCP bind hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 4096 bind 4096)
TCP reno registered
io scheduler noop registered
io scheduler anticipatory registered (default)
io scheduler deadline registered
io scheduler cfq registered
Serial: 8250/16550 driver $Revision: 1.90 $ 4 ports, IRQ sharing disabled
serial8250.0: ttyS0 at MMIO 0x80004500 (irq = 16) is a 16550A
serial8250.0: ttyS1 at MMIO 0x80004600 (irq = 17) is a 16550A
RAMDISK driver initialized: 2 RAM disks of 8192K size 1024 blocksize
loop: module loaded
r8169 Gigabit Ethernet driver 2.2LK loaded
eth0: RTL8169s/8110s at 0xc9004c00, 00:0d:0b:ad:a9:35, IRQ 19
netconsole: device eth0 not up yet, forcing it
r8169: eth0: link down
r8169: eth0: link up
netconsole: network logging started
pata_sil680 0000:00:0c.0: version 0.4.6
sil680: BA5_EN = 1 clock = 00
sil680: BA5_EN = 1 clock = 10
sil680: 133MHz clock.
scsi0 : pata_sil680
scsi1 : pata_sil680
ata1: PATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0xfdffbed0 ctl 0xfdffbeda bmdma 0xfdffbef0 irq 20
ata2: PATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0xfdffbee0 ctl 0xfdffbeea bmdma 0xfdffbef8 irq 20
ata1.00: ATA-7: ST3300631A, 3.04, max UDMA/100
ata1.00: 586072368 sectors, multi 0: LBA48
ata1.00: configured for UDMA/100
scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access     ATA      ST3300631A       3.04 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 586072368 512-byte hardware sectors (300069 MB)
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 586072368 512-byte hardware sectors (300069 MB)
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
 sda: sda1 sda2 sda3
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI disk
sd 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
physmap platform flash device: 00400000 at ffc00000
physmap-flash.0: Found 1 x16 devices at 0x0 in 8-bit bank
 Amd/Fujitsu Extended Query Table at 0x0040
physmap-flash.0: Swapping erase regions for broken CFI table.
number of CFI chips: 1
cfi_cmdset_0002: Disabling erase-suspend-program due to code brokenness.
cmdlinepart partition parsing not available
RedBoot partition parsing not available
Using physmap partition information
Creating 6 MTD partitions on "physmap-flash.0":
0x00000000-0x00300000 : "mtd_firmimg"
0x00300000-0x00370000 : "mtd_bootcode"
0x00370000-0x00380000 : "mtd_status"
0x00380000-0x00400000 : "mtd_conf"
0x00000000-0x00400000 : "mtd_allflash"
0x00310000-0x00400000 : "mtd_data"
usbmon: debugfs is not available
ehci_hcd 0000:00:0e.2: EHCI Host Controller
ehci_hcd 0000:00:0e.2: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
ehci_hcd 0000:00:0e.2: irq 21, io mem 0xbfffcf00
ehci_hcd 0000:00:0e.2: USB 2.0 started, EHCI 1.00, driver 10 Dec 2004
usb usb1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 1-0:1.0: 5 ports detected
ohci_hcd: 2006 August 04 USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver
ohci_hcd 0000:00:0e.0: OHCI Host Controller
ohci_hcd 0000:00:0e.0: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
ohci_hcd 0000:00:0e.0: irq 21, io mem 0xbfffe000
usb usb2: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
hub 2-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 2-0:1.0: 3 ports detected
ohci_hcd 0000:00:0e.1: OHCI Host Controller
ohci_hcd 0000:00:0e.1: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 3
ohci_hcd 0000:00:0e.1: irq 21, io mem 0xbfffd000
usb usb3: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
hub 3-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 3-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
usbcore: registered new interface driver usbserial
drivers/usb/serial/usb-serial.c: USB Serial Driver core
drivers/usb/serial/usb-serial.c: USB Serial support registered for FTDI USB Serial Device
usbcore: registered new interface driver ftdi_sio
drivers/usb/serial/ftdi_sio.c: v1.4.3:USB FTDI Serial Converters Driver
mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
i2c /dev entries driver
rtc-rs5c372 0-0032: assuming rs5c372b
rtc-rs5c372 0-0032: rs5c372b found, 24hr, driver version 0.4
rtc-rs5c372 0-0032: rtc core: registered rtc-rs5c372 as rtc0
TCP cubic registered
NET: Registered protocol family 1
NET: Registered protocol family 17
rtc-rs5c372 0-0032: setting the system clock to 2007-09-27 14:39:06 (1190903946)
linkstation: disarming the AVR watchdog:
kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
VFS: Mounted root (ext3 filesystem) readonly.
Freeing unused kernel memory: 148k init
Adding 265064k swap on /dev/sda2.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:265064k
EXT3-fs warning: maximal mount count reached, running e2fsck is recommended
EXT3 FS on sda1, internal journal
kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3-fs warning: maximal mount count reached, running e2fsck is recommended
EXT3 FS on sda3, internal journal
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.


For security reasons, I've edited out the IP addresses.

Thanks for the help!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 7:34 am
Posts: 56
Location: UK
Thanx for the dmesg dump.

Most of the build is warning only. This is a Beta drop of 1.8. The strip complaint you can also ignore. Will have to make the make file better I think. You should have an executable to try though.

I think that I will have to modify the auto-detect as there are a few different kernels going around now based on different patches. When I have something to test I will let you know if that is okay?

Please keep me informed of any issues with 1.8 please.

_________________
-------------------------------------------

KuroPRO.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Posts: 110
OK, when I tried to run the 1.8 beta by doing:

Code:
<path>/avr_evtd -c


I get different feedback on the screen than I did with 1.7.2. Before I would just get

Code:
>>>>ZZZZ


With 1.8, I get all sorts of info before the zzzz's:

Code:
cmd=LOG
arg=/var/log
cmd=/var/log
arg=# Advanced use only.  Will log events when enabled
cmd=DEBUG
arg=ON
menu time=0.350000
cmd= default no
arg=EMMODE
cmd=EMMODE
arg=NO
cmd=NO
arg=# Timed shutdown flag (ON enables timed power down/up only
cmd=TIMER
arg=OFF
cmd= specify the desired
arg=# serial port connection to the AVR below and remove the
cmd=DEVICE
arg=/dev/ttyS1
cmd=/dev/ttyS1
arg=# MACRO day/group switching ON/OFF times in 24hr HH:MM
cmd=SUN
arg=SAT
cmd=SAT
arg=OFF
cmd=OFF
arg=01:15
0 time[1] = 1 15 f 0 l 6 g 1
cmd=01:15
arg=ON
cmd=ON
arg=06:20
0 time[3] = 6 20 f 0 l 6 g 1
cmd=06:20
arg=# Shutdown (default) time specified in 24hr format HH:MM
cmd=SHUTDOWN
arg=# Power on (default) time specified in 24hr format HH:MM
cmd=POWERON
arg=# Disk check
cmd= set to OFF or a value (0-100) specifying a
arg=# percentage used at which the disk LED will illuminate
cmd=DISKCHECK
arg=90
cmd=90
arg=# Specify root partition for disk check
cmd= default is none
arg=ROOT
cmd=ROOT
arg=sda1
cmd=sda1
arg=# Specify working partition for disk check
cmd= default is none
arg=WORK
cmd=WORK
arg=sda3
cmd=sda3
arg=# Disk/AVR refresh rate (seconds)
cmd= default 40
arg=REFRESH
cmd=REFRESH
arg=40
cmd=40
arg=# Hold time (seconds) for button power-off
cmd= default 3
arg=HOLD
cmd=HOLD
arg=3
Hold time=3.000000
cmd=3
arg=# Enable/disable continous disk full messages
cmd= default off
arg=DISKNAG
cmd=DISKNAG
arg=OFF
cmd= default 30
arg=FANSTOP
cmd=FANSTOP
arg=15
Read avr_evtd -1 -1
Set avr timer
>>>>ZZZZ


The syslog only shows this when I run it:

Code:
Oct  9 16:41:49 KUROBOX avr-daemon[6750]: Linkstation/Kuro AVR daemon Version 1.8 (Beta)


Pressing the power button doesn't yield anything different on the screen or log

Feel free to send me whatever you need for testing. I have a feeling that there may be others that may come across similar issues to what I'm experiencing.

Thanks!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 7:34 am
Posts: 56
Location: UK
I see that you are using the DEVICE=ttyS1 override. When run with the -c (no daemon mode) option I could see that the output was still routing to the console (ttyS0). I will look at that I send you some updates.

Ignore all the other info. This is debug for the updates I made for 1.8. Its still Beta at the moment. Until I know that the issues with the fan override option are okay.

_________________
-------------------------------------------

KuroPRO.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 7:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Posts: 110
worm wrote:
I see that you are using the DEVICE=ttyS1 override.


Is it because it reads the config file in /etc/default? If so, I have it set to ttyS1. If it uses ttyS0, it will reboot every 5 minutes after the change and a reboot.

worm wrote:
I will look at that I send you some updates.


Looking forward to it! Some day I'll get this project done. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:00 am
Posts: 91
Location: UK
phlegmer wrote:
If it uses ttyS0, it will reboot every 5 minutes after the change and a reboot.

Odd... for me, 'dmesg' reports this:
Code:
linkstation: disarming the AVR watchdog:

So my kernel is disarming the watchdog when it boots. I guess yours isn't doing that?

I think this will have something to do with the machine-specific settings in the kernel config.

If you do
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux; make menuconfig

Do you have Machine Type set to "Linkstation / Kurobox(HG) from Buffalo" in the Platform Support submenu?

Matthew


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 7:34 am
Posts: 56
Location: UK
@phlegmer: Found a couple of odd things testing this again yesterday. I have now moved the debug test logic into the daemon rather than leaving it to the scripts: better that way. I have a new drop for you to check out (1.8.1, good number hey :)) Just need to get access to the downloads area again so you can upload it. Added some debug for the button messages. You should be getting these as the watchdog is working so I am puzzled with that. The changes made this all a bit clearer and I did have some running issues on my HG but that is fixed now. Just waiting for mindbender.

_________________
-------------------------------------------

KuroPRO.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 8:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Posts: 110
OK, I think I'm getting over my head. After testing with 1.8 I thought I'd check my dmesg after I changed the config file to use ttyS0. Wanted to see if AVR watchdog got disabled. So I changed the config and rebooted. Fully expecting that the kurobox would reboot every 5 min....but it didn't. After grepping the ps for avr, it wasn't even running? Hmmm. If I just type

Code:
# avr_evtd -v


I do get

Code:
Linkstation/Kuro AVR daemon Version 1.7.2


So doesn't that mean that the daemon is still installed? If so, why wouldn't it start up on boot?

In the mean time, I decided to do a little clean up. I was starting to get a little confused with all the different versions of avr_evtd I had. I had backups of backups, test code from lardmonster, and of course the 1.8 version. So now I think I have it all straight. However, I can't seem to run the 1.8 version anymore. Before the reboot, I was able to

Code:
<path>/avr_evtd -v


the 1.8. Now I get this

Code:
/usr/src/avr_evtd/avr_evtd_1.8/avr_evtd: line 5: SUN-TUE=ON=09:20,OFF=22:45: command not found
/usr/src/avr_evtd/avr_evtd_1.8/avr_evtd: line 7: THR-SAT=ON=09:15,OFF=23:10: command not found


Same error when I tried to launch it with -c. I even re-wget the files. Not sure what happened or what I did to mess things up.

Any thoughts?


PS: Sorry that I don't know all the gotcha's of Linux yet....:(


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:00 am
Posts: 91
Location: UK
phlegmer wrote:
Now I get this

Code:
/usr/src/avr_evtd/avr_evtd_1.8/avr_evtd: line 5: SUN-TUE=ON=09:20,OFF=22:45: command not found
/usr/src/avr_evtd/avr_evtd_1.8/avr_evtd: line 7: THR-SAT=ON=09:15,OFF=23:10: command not found

I remember seeing someting similar...

The startup script executes the settings file as if it were a shell script. What you see as "KEY=VALUE" is actually setting environment variables in the shell.

And as I wasn't using the funky timer stuff, I commented out the failing lines from the config file.

(Of course, it may be masking another problem, but it got me going)

Matthew


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Posts: 110
Lardmonster wrote:
I remember seeing someting similar...

The startup script executes the settings file as if it were a shell script. What you see as "KEY=VALUE" is actually setting environment variables in the shell.

And as I wasn't using the funky timer stuff, I commented out the failing lines from the config file.

(Of course, it may be masking another problem, but it got me going)

Matthew


I'm not quite sure which script you are referring to. I don't see it in /etc/default/avr_evtd or in /etc/avr_evtd/EventScript. What am I missing? What's odd is I don't recall making such a change.

Thanks!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 5:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:00 am
Posts: 91
Location: UK
Sorry - I should have been more explicit.

The startup script ("/etc/init.d/avr_evtd") finds the config file ("/etc/default/avr_evtd") and executes it, which sets some shell environment variables.

I edited "/etc/default/avr_evtd" to comment out the offending line:
Code:
#SUN-SAT=OFF=01:15,ON=06:20

Matthew


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 9:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 7:34 am
Posts: 56
Location: UK
phlegmer just ignore the errors from the Eventscript, these are as a result of changes to the parser. This will go away when I remove this stuff from the Eventscript.

I have a new drop of software to try but can not get it on my downloads area yet. Can you PM me your e-mail details so I cacn send it on?

_________________
-------------------------------------------

KuroPRO.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 2:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Posts: 110
Lardmonster,

Thanks for the clarification.


worm,

I PMed my e-mail info.

Thanks!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited