Kurobox NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Kuro Community
It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:45 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Audio no-go on gentoo
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 2:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 2:20 pm
Posts: 4
Unfortuanately, I was never able to get USB audio working with gentoo. I tried everything I could think of: compiling the kernel, using the pre-compiled modules I found on the nett, etc. When doing the module loading via modprobe, I kept getting a bunch of symbol mismatches.

I really liked the gentoo environment, but this problem prevented me from keeping it on my system. I eventually reverted back to Buffalo supplied software, and my compiled kernel modules,.

Thanks,
Rob


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 3:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Houston, TX, USA
rscott13 wrote:
Unfortuanately, I was never able to get USB audio working with gentoo. I tried everything I could think of: compiling the kernel, using the pre-compiled modules I found on the nett, etc. When doing the module loading via modprobe, I kept getting a bunch of symbol mismatches.

I really liked the gentoo environment, but this problem prevented me from keeping it on my system. I eventually reverted back to Buffalo supplied software, and my compiled kernel modules,.

Thanks,
Rob


That's a little strange considering that it's the same kernel in both cases?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 5:43 pm 
rscott13 wrote:
Unfortuanately, I was never able to get USB audio working with gentoo. I tried everything I could think of: compiling the kernel, using the pre-compiled modules I found on the nett, etc. When doing the module loading via modprobe, I kept getting a bunch of symbol mismatches.


Was this the kernel usb audio option (called "audio" if built as a module) or was it alsa with its usb driver?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Houston, TX, USA
This is mostly aimed at TGL, but other comments welcomed:

I know it's not strictly speaking part of a stage 3 tarball, but for the next Beta may I suggest that it include all the available compiled modules appropriately depmod'ed and possibly the kernel source code?

The modules because people want to experiment, that was the whole point of the TGC and hardware is a part of that, and the kernel because I unashmedly would like the TGC to be the reference platform for kuro kernel development... :twisted:

There's a couple of new (well to me) bug/misfeatures in Beta 1 that need to be swatted for Beta 2: The console is getting PAM error on XAUTHORITY and complaints about a missing modules.dep file. I don't know if I'm the only TGC user with console access on the kuro? (I have read, but not write since I knocked the pads off the board when soldering. Yes, I'm a clumsy oaf, that's why I don't solder for a living! :lol: )

James


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 3:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 3:46 pm
Posts: 209
jgmdean wrote:
There's a couple of new (well to me) bug/misfeatures in Beta 1 that need to be swatted for Beta 2: The console is getting PAM error on XAUTHORITY and complaints about a missing modules.dep file.

To fix the XAUTHORITY bug, just edit your /etc/security/pam_env.conf this way:
Code:
REMOTEHOST      DEFAULT=localhost OVERRIDE=@{PAM_RHOST}
#
# Set the DISPLAY variable if it seems reasonable
DISPLAY         DEFAULT=${REMOTEHOST}:0.0 OVERRIDE=${DISPLAY}
#
# Set the XAUTHORITY variable if pam_xauth is used
#XAUTHORITY     DEFAULT= OVERRIDE=@{XAUTHORITY}


As for the modules thing, did you try to run depmod -ae?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Houston, TX, USA
mephisto wrote:
jgmdean wrote:
There's a couple of new (well to me) bug/misfeatures in Beta 1 that need to be swatted for Beta 2: The console is getting PAM error on XAUTHORITY and complaints about a missing modules.dep file.

To fix the XAUTHORITY bug, just edit your /etc/security/pam_env.conf this way:
Code:
REMOTEHOST      DEFAULT=localhost OVERRIDE=@{PAM_RHOST}
#
# Set the DISPLAY variable if it seems reasonable
DISPLAY         DEFAULT=${REMOTEHOST}:0.0 OVERRIDE=${DISPLAY}
#
# Set the XAUTHORITY variable if pam_xauth is used
#XAUTHORITY     DEFAULT= OVERRIDE=@{XAUTHORITY}


As for the modules thing, did you try to run depmod -ae?


Actually I eventually tracked down the PAM thing to that file and fixed that way (I am not a PAM guru), and I installled every module I could find and did the depmod (although a blank file would have been enough). I should probably add these comments to the Wiki as Genttoo Beta 1 bugs.

James


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 2:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 1:36 pm
Posts: 299
Request for Beta 2:

Hi,
This Gentoo project looks great. I know very little about using Linux from the command line but I am looking forward to installing your Gentoo files and giving it a go.

I would like to be able to have a dual boot option. I would like to leave the regular Kuro Box software installed and booted by default. When I wanted to experiment with Gentoo, I would like to telnet into the box and execute a command like "bootgentoo". If possible, I'd like Gentoo kept on a seperate set of partitions to allow me to fiddle with them without affecting the default installation. If I hosed the Gentoo install, it would be great to just reboot the KB which would go back to the normal install. If possible, I'd also like for the normal install to not be writable from the Gentoo install so as to further protect myself from screw-ups.

Is there any hope for this?

I know you guys have seen jochang's kernel loader from this thread:
http://www.kurobox.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=277
Does it work well enough to allow this Gentoo project to move to new kernels without requiring a flash?


Last edited by awx on Wed Jan 19, 2005 2:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 3:46 pm
Posts: 209
You don't really need to "boot" gentoo, you can simply chroot into it.

Create a directory in which you extract the gentoo archive(s). Get a chroot binary (if the default install has none) and execute chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
It might helpt to mount your dev- and proc-filesystem into the gentoo-dir with
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
mount -o bind /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 2:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Until such time as someone creates and completely debugs a better bootloader I don't see multiple installed OS' as an option right now. Having multiple roots on different partitions is mostly trivial, but without easy and risk free access to the kernel boot parameters changing them is not really an option. It might be possible to use jochangs modules from EM mode to switch, but I wouldn't reccomend it right now.

"chroot" environments are great for setting up and repairing images, but they don't really go through the boot process properly, at least by default.

James


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2005 7:22 am 
well, there are only two things I can think of.

1. better documentation.
2. posting updates at the gentoo forums will probably bring more ideas, more interest, and ideally more help!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2005 11:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 1:36 pm
Posts: 299
Whoa, thread from the dead.

I'd still be willing to work on the documentation if there is a new release.

Also, I posted this in the wiki but I'll post it here too. We need "screen" included to help with the long compiles. mirrorselect would be nice to have as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 7:36 am 
Hi!
Anonymous wrote:
well, there are only two things I can think of.

1. better documentation.
2. posting updates at the gentoo forums will probably bring more ideas, more interest, and ideally more help!


Can you please drop a link here for the Gentoo forums you've mentioned? Thanks


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 6:47 am
Posts: 39
Location: Near Tokyo, Japan
I know this is reviving a dead thread, and my knowlege of how portage works is pretty limited, but here's what I think would be great:

1) All modules included for the stock kernel would be great
2) instead of using the newest version of iptables, a working version available in the portage tree would be really great.

I've had some other minor irritations with Gentoo, but overall I'm quite pleased.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited